C4W Member Profile: Sarah Swingle

sarahswingle

Photo by Alice Keeney Photography

What is your profession? After starting my career in the advertising and Jewish non-profit fields, I decided to pursue my passion and work toward a Master’s in Animal Policy and Advocacy. I’m about halfway through my online program at Humane Society University, and upon completion of my degree, I hope to work for a national or international animal protection organization on farm animal or wildlife policy.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I went vegan out of concern for animals in 2009, and now I write a blog called What I Vegan to show people how accessible, fun, and delicious a vegan lifestyle can be. I also love volunteering for Unchain Charleston and other organizations, watching Alabama football (Roll Tide!), reading, and hanging out with my husband and our four rescued companion animals.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? I joined in July of this year, so I’m a newbie!

What inspired you to become a member? Throughout my nearly six years in Charleston, I heard of the Center for Women, met its great staff members, thought about joining, got lost in my busy life…and forgot. I received an email about the Center’s upcoming Be Brave Bash and thought it sounded fabulous. I decided I had better join right then before I got distracted! I encourage you to join right now too if you’ve been putting it off!

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? In the short time I’ve been a member, the Center for Women has connected me with interesting, diverse, and empowered women. In fact, I went to lunch the other day with two new friends I met at orientation! There are many programs I’m interested in attending (Women Writers Forum and networking events particularly), so I’m looking forward to jumping in!

 How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? As a member of a gender that is affected by the glass ceiling (or should I say ‘concrete ceiling’ in South Carolina?), pay inequality, and other issues, living as a woman has made me aware of all the injustice in the world.  This awareness has given me a sense of social justice and is the main reason I am an activist for women’s rights, human rights, gay rights, civil rights, and, of course, animal rights.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? As much as possible, don’t let the economy keep you from pursuing your passions. Sacrifices made today might translate into a dream come true in the future if you set your sights high!

How can people connect with you?

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/pub/sarah-swingle/6/282/8b7/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/WhatIVegan

Twitter: @what_i_vegan

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

