C4W Member Profile: Jeanette Turner

jeanetteturnerWhat is your profession?  Owner, Changing Places, Fine Home Furniture Consignment

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career?  Spending time with my wonderful Brussels Griffon dog, Max, walking him and playing with him.  He’s so funny!  I also love spending time with friends when I have time.  I love going to auctions and estate sales for work.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women?  I’m on my second year and I love it.

What inspired you to become a member?  It interested me to become a member of a women’s organization where it was women helping women.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you?  Center for Women has had a big impact on me with their networking meetings, as well as the tremendous one on one counseling that is available.  That was a huge help to me as I started my business and continues to be.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you?  It’s become clearer to me as I’ve been in the business world that women are not treated the same as the “good ole boy network.”  Therefore, I think it’s very important that we pull together as women and try to get equal pay and rights for all women in the workplace and those trying to start and run their own businesses.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy?  Don’t give up.  You can succeed in today’s economy.  Sometimes success is feeding your family, or just paying your bills however, we have to take pride in our small successes as well as the larger ones.  If you want to open your own business, it is possible.  There are loans available for women who persevere.  Just remember, you can do it! 

How can people connect with you?  By e-mailing me at my store at changingplacesconsignment@yahoo.com or by calling me at (843) 556-4000, store or on my cell at (843) 814-1355.  I’d love to hear from you.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

