C4W Member Profile: Kelsey Gilmore-Futeral

kelseyfuteralWhat is your profession? Attorney – General Counsel for Atlantic Bedding and Furniture and manager and associate of our law firm, Futeral & Nelson, LLC

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I adopted a vegan lifestyle as a new year’s resolution in 2009, and haven’t turned back!  I love to cook vegan food for my family and ‘veganize’ omnivore recipes, my husband and I volunteer at a local assisted living facility with our therapy dogs; I am also a tester/observer and the secretary of our national therapy dog registry, Therapy Dogs Incorporated.   I love to run, and have my sights set on a half marathon at the end of this year, and enjoy reading with the amazing group of ladies in my book club.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? I’m brand new!

What inspired you to become a member? In the furniture and legal businesses, I am overwhelmed with men in my day-to-day relationships and interactions.  For a long time, I looked for an organization that would enable me to network with other professionals, provide me the opportunity to improve my skills, and teach younger people some of the lessons I have learned.  After working in fields dominated by men, I decided my ideal organization would focus on women and improve the relationship between women to unite us as allies rather than competitors.  C4W was that organization!

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? As a new member, I am overwhelmed at all of the amazing opportunities C4W offers for networking, support, and education.  I am excited to take advantage of all of these amazing opportunities. The C4W has inspired me to begin expanding my network and improving my marketability in the Lowcountry.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you?  Working as a professional and living as a woman is a balance of finesse, kindness, compassion, strength, guile, and dedication.  What I love most about being a female lawyer is the opportunity to negotiate and argue contentious legal matters, contracts, and disputes, then return home to cook dinner for my family and love on our five rescued dogs.  Living as a woman has taught me to bring finesse to the office and perseverance to the home.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Everyone knows the economy is tight, as we’re pinching our pennies as shoppers, homemakers, and consumers.  We need to bring that mindset to our businesses and help our companies minimize loss and risk and take the penny-pinching mindset into our work in sales.  Money doesn’t flow like it did ten years ago, and as women, we oftentimes hold the purchasing power and define the consumer mindset.  It’s important to bring your female consumer brain to work with you to help your business succeed in this frugal economy.

How can people connect with you?  Via email and LinkedIn – Kelsey@AtlanticBeddingAndFurniture.com

http://www.linkedin.com/pub/kelsey-gilmore-futeral/13/b35/b03

www.charlestonlaw.net

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “C4W Member Profile: Kelsey Gilmore-Futeral”

  1. Kelsey Gilmore-Futeral Says:

    Thanks for allowing me to share my thoughts and experiences!

Leave a Reply

