C4W Member Profile: Erin Marqua

erinmarquaWhat is your profession? Owner of Gourmet Bay Catering with my husband, Patrick Hickey.  I handle all the internet marketing and he handles the kitchen.  Gourmet Bay caters weddings, special events, corporate functions and everything in between. 

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I love hanging out on Folly Beach with my husband and two pups Pelota & Maple.  We are an outdoor loving family and enjoying swimming, SUPing, surfing, and beach walks.  I also love to travel in Europe and take photos.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? I just joined!

What inspired you to become a member? I joined to network, gain new relationships both professionally and personally, and participate in the one-on-one counseling at the business center.  I’m excited to empower other women business owners and get advice from them along the way. 

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? Positive. I have already met many wonderful women who are interested in what I do, how to help, and in turn need my help.  Last year was the 1st time Gourmet Bay Catering participated in the Women in Business Conference Culinary Showcase and we decided to do it again this year.  It’s one of our favorite events. 

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? I love being a woman in Charleston.  There is great opportunity for women in business nowadays and the Center for Women is making it easier to succeed.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy?   Be yourself and work hard.  Owning a business isn’t easy, but it is worth the sacrifice.  

How can people connect with you?

erin@gourmetbay.net

twitter: @GourmetBayCater

www.facebook.com/GourmetBayCateringCharleston

http://www.gourmetbay.nethttp://erinmarqua.wix.com/erin

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

