C4W Business Member Profile: Lisa VanBergen, Florence Crittenton Programs of SC

LisaVanBergenWhat is your profession?   Executive Director, Florence Crittenton Programs of SC.  I’m a Licensed Professional Counselor and a Certified Addictions Counselor.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career?   Spending time with my family, enjoying concerts and community events.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women?  For the past two years as an individual, and this year Florence Crittenton joined as a business member.

What inspired you to become a member?   Jennet Alterman, who is such an amazing advocate for and inspiration to other women, and the opportunity to network with and learn from others.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you?   C4W has encouraged me to step into my power as a leader, learning from others and support from mentors.  Also, they have provided wonderful support for my 13 year old daughter who is interested in math careers, which came from me speaking up at a Women in Business conference.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you?   As a young woman, I definitely felt my opinions weren’t respected as much as those of young men.   So I spoke up more often and more vehemently.   As a young mother, I felt my parenting skills weren’t respected.   So I became a diligent mother who changed the ends of fairy tales so my daughter wouldn’t grow up to think a prince would solve her problems.  As a more mature woman, I have been blessed with amazing role models who have encouraged me to define success for myself, not allow others to define it for me.  So I have taken side steps and back steps professionally that have met my personal and family needs, but those choices have led to greater fulfillment.  I’m very lucky to have amazing parents, Peg and Harry Van Bergen, who always supported me.  And my daughters, Constance and Chloe Belton, who teach me about being a woman every day.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Follow your gut, not your fear.  And connect with each other.  We are a great resource!

How can people connect with you?

LVanBergen@florencecrittentonsc.org

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

