C4W Member Profile: Yong-Mei Zhang

Zhang,Yong-MeiWhat is your profession? Assistant Professor of Biochemistry at MUSC

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? Tennis, reading and doing art projects with my kids.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? Just joined

What inspired you to become a member? Connect with other women professionals in Charleston, enhance communication and leadership skills.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? Being in a group of women makes me feel I am not alone in my struggles both at work and at home.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? I don’t feel I am limited in any way as a woman.  At the same time, I realize that I am different in many ways from my man peers, and want to be conscious about the differences.  C4W is a great resource for me to learn new approaches to communicate better and have my voice heard.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Aim high and don’t give up.

How can people connect with you? zhangym@musc.edu

Tags: , ,

One Response to “C4W Member Profile: Yong-Mei Zhang”

  1. california state university fullerton Says:

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much
    about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I
    think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is wonderful blog.
    An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

