C4W Member Profile: Karla Telega

Karla TelegaWhat is your profession? I’m a humor writer and owner of the Indie Publishing company, Tart Cookies Press.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I love the natural beauty of the Low Country, so I enjoy hiking through the woods, while keeping an eye out for freakishly huge spiders. Seriously, some of them are big enough to beat you over the head with a stick.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? I only recently joined, and am looking forward to connecting with other local business women. We all benefit from mutual support.

What inspired you to become a member? I first learned about the Center for Women in connection with a Low Country authors’ book signing. When I learned about other events, I was sold.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? As a new member, I was impressed with the one event I attended. Many authors have formed their own publishing companies, ignorant of what owning a business truly involves. Writing is a rather solitary profession, so learning from successful business women and meeting other writer/publishers is a rare opportunity for personal and professional growth.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? I don’t walk around with a chip on my shoulder, but I often feel that I have to work harder to earn respect. Women are often judged more by their appearance than their accomplishments, so whenever I want to be taken seriously, it involves dying my gray roots, applying lavish amounts of mascara, and squeezing into my Spanx. Oh, the humanity!

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Know-Connect-Share. Know your market. Connect with them. Share what you have to offer. I believe that the Center for Women will be an extraordinary opportunity to learn more about connecting with my readers.

How can people connect with you? I can be reached through my website: telegatales.com/wordpress or my company email, tartcoookies@gmail.com. You can also find me at LinkedIn.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “C4W Member Profile: Karla Telega”

  1. The Spotlight’s On You! Vol 1:5 | Crumbsnatcher Tales Says:

    […] C4W Member Profile: Karla Telega (c4women.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

