C4W Member Profile: Angela Cole Henry

angelahenryWhat is your profession?  Management and Aspiring Writer.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career?  Along with my Husband, teaching my step-son the meaning of service.  We enjoy taking advantage of volunteer opportunities, as a means of creating stronger bonds with one another.  I also enjoy taking my dog to the James Island Dog Park, taking in comedy improv at Theatre 99 and writing every opportunity I can find.  Preferably, I like to write on random perches around downtown, on a blanket in the park or in one of the many beautiful Charleston beaches.

What inspired you to become a member?   A workshop led by Cathy Liska inspired me to join.  Surrounding yourself with positive, empowered women can only work to your advantage.  I do not always have the courage to take the risk, use my voice or make the change.  It is my hope that being a part of a sage group of women, also inspired to achieve greatness in their own exceptional way, will bring strength to me when I need help.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you?  My experience with the Center for Women is limited.  My research of this organization has led me to learn about such initiatives as the Walker Phenomenal Spirit Award and Women’s Leadership Institute.  I look forward to moving closer to my goals by taking advantage of the programs offered by this organization.

How has living day to day as a woman affected you?  My experience as a woman has been riddled with bewilderment.  By this I mean that the traditional expectations of women measured against the modern day reality of the female experience are vastly different.  I am not necessarily speaking of the outdated model of a traditional barefoot-in-the-kitchen woman.  I am speaking of my Mother, the quintessential Superwoman.  I am speaking of the woman who juggles the role of wife, mother of two girls, full time computer geek in the downtown high rise by day and achieving student by night.  My personal experience as a woman rides on the heels of one of our country’s great pioneers and champions of women’s rights.  Today’s woman is allowed to be innovative.  She is allowed to be exactly who she wants to be, given that she is willing to create it.  There is great responsibility to live up to the opportunities open to today’s woman.  I am affected with a sense of great responsibility, as I seek to achieve that which is worthy of the fight that women like my Mother fought for me.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy?  There is a time and a place for every idea, every dream and every single risk.  Make this moment your time and place.  Innovation and sustainability are how I view the path to my success.  Find that idea which inspires you, and then decide how you can make this idea your own.  Everybody has the ability to succeed at something complete unique to anybody else.  Find out what this is and do it.

 How can people connect with you?   angelacolehenry@gmail.com

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

