C4W Member Profile: Sandy Irving

sandyirving

What is your profession? As owner of  Charleston Wine Tastings I am a wine educator and salesperson. I present wine tastings in homes and offices and am available for speaking engagements and other events to talk about wine. I represent a Napa Valley winery and all of the wines I market are produced there and are limited in quantity and exclusive to my company.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I love to travel and this year was fortunate to spend time in Italy, Scotland, England and Spain! Of course while I’m there I sample the local wine. Cooking and creating recipes is also a passion of mine, and if I have time, I like to get my hands dirty in the garden.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? Just over 2 years.

What inspired you to become a member? I have a very full schedule, but a friend and member, Robin Giangrande reminded me of the benefits of membership. I love the camaraderie, the mentorship and the support that goes along with being a member. I am excited about connecting with all the members, both old friends and new.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? I believe that by empowering ALL women in our community, that each individual will grow as a result. We can all benefit from sharing the programs and the fellowship that the center organizes and puts at our fingertips.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you?  I don’t think of myself as living  “as a woman” but feel that we all experience both challenges and success as we travel through life. As a life long entrepreneur, I have always focused on the goal, and not considered whether my gender would be either a help or hindrance.  As the mother of both a son and a daughter, I want both of them to work towards a society where we are not judged by gender in any situation. I do think that women have a stronger sense of community and sister hood.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Turn your dreams into goals by writing them down and making a plan, then be consistent and persistent. Don’t give up.

How can people connect with you? Wine.sandy@yahoo.com  www.charlestonwinetastings.com 843-864-6490.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

