C4W Business Member Profile: Bedie Kinney, Durlach Associates

Bedie Holland

What is your profession? Chief Financial Officer for Durlach Associates.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I love playing with the grandchildren, especially my 4 year old grandson.  I work Sudoku in the evenings to relax (really!).  I enjoy eating out and since I live in the best place on earth, it is easy to find things to do from volunteering to bird watching from my deck.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? Since 1997 .

What inspired you to become a member?  I wanted to associate with women in my community, both professionally and socially.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? In the beginning the Center for Women supported me emotionally in a time of change, as time passed it has been a resource for education, networking, admiring the talents and journeys of other women.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? It is a feeling of empowerment.  I set my mind on my goals and have taken action for what was needed to accomplish those goals.  Even when the goal was not accomplished as soon as I wanted it, I work at it until I complete my mission.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? My advice is to know your strengths, hone your skills, set your course of action, and work it through education, networking, find a mentor, and get involved where you can.  Set a plan to get out of debt.  All of these will empower you to be your own person who wants to raise your family with purpose, help your community, and enjoy the best life you were given.

How can people connect with you?  My email address is bkinney@durlach.com. You will also find me at Center for Women events.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

