C4W Member Profile: Kelly Gaskins

What is your profession? I own Charleston Girl LLC. I recently designed and launched my first fragrance line called Charleston Girl.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I love being active. I am a licensed Zumba instructor and I LOVE teaching in my spare time. I love the water so anything related to that, I’m there. I enjoy reading, the theatre (Phantom of the Opera is my favorite), spa trips, animals, festivals, concerts, traveling, dining out & trying new foods, meeting new people & much more.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? Just recently joined.

What inspired you to become a member? I had heard about the center before and was always interested in meeting other ambitious & driven women. It is so important to surround yourself with supportive people & positive influences. I am 27 and I’ve had a hard time finding business minded people to hang out with, learn from & support each other. I was recently talking with a member and she raved about your organization and how great her experience had been & that was it for me; I joined!

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you?  I recently joined but I am hoping for a positive, proactive & hands-on impact.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you?  I have found being in business as a young woman can be difficult. I deal with huge companies that are run by men and sometimes I feel I don’t get the same respect as business man would receive. I have to work harder and be more professional than a man I feel like!! But, I LOVE being a woman!!

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Go for it. If you are ready to put the effort in & you realize once you begin the journey it will change your life, then do it!! I would advise to be prepared, do your research and understand success does not always equal a 9 to 5 job….long hours will be ahead. But if you are passionate about your business it doesn’t matter because you will be driven and ready to do whatever it takes.

How can people connect with you?

Website: www.CharlestonGirlPerfume.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/CharlestonGirlPerfume
Email: Kelly@CharlestonGirlPerfume.com

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

