C4W Board Member Profile: Mary Peters

What is your profession?  I am founder and president of Care For Life, Inc., a geriatric care management and homecare agency established in 1995 that serves the tri-county area.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career?  I enjoy family vacations, long distance bike riding, golf, fitness training, staying in touch with friends, new and old,  my book club and reading journals pertaining to caregiving. I am a Rotarian, and I am pleased to serve on the boards of the Hospice of Charleston Foundation and the Center for Women.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women?  I can’t recall when I wasn’t involved with the Center for Women. 

What inspired you to become a member? Jennet and I are old friends who have always supported each other in every endeavor.  We have entrepreneurial  spirits, and want to inspire other women to take the leap of faith that is needed to begin a business or non-profit.   We are like minded in the need to help women prepare to succeed in their personal and professional lives.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you?  Of course, there have been challenges along the way, but I was taught to keep my integrity, first and foremost, and my focus on my ultimate goals and, of course, quitting is never an option.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? I would advise them to take stock of the cost of success.  The long hours and intensity of purpose that is required can take a toll.  If there is something they feel passionate about and believe they can achieve, then preparation through training and learning to self-direct is absolutely key to succeeding in the complex, rapid-fire economy we find ourselves engaging today.

How can people connect with you? I can be reached through my office at Care For Life at 843.852.9090. Please speak with Mary Alice Keller, my Executive Assistant, if possible.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

