C4W Member Profile: Lauren Whiteside

What is your profession? I am a patient care coordinator at Belle Hall Eye Care. I’m also the South Carolina chapter leader for the National Cervical Cancer Coalition. I founded this chapter in January 2011.

What do you enjoy doing outside of our career? I like to spend time with my family, friends, & loved ones. I love to practice yoga, visit antique shops, & spend time with my border collie, Rainer. I’m an active volunteer and visit with a woman named Tallulah who is 102 years old. Currently my main focus is with the NCCC SC Chapter I started earlier this year to spread awareness on cervical cancer and HPV. We are holding our first chapter fundraiser on Thursday, December 1st at Fish Restaurant from 6:30-8:30pm. The event is called “Sercys for Spreading Awareness” and will have a silent auction and cocktails.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? I became a member in September 2011.

What inspired you to become a member? I came across the C4W’s Facebook group page and saw how so many women were supportive of each other. I immediately researched & joined it because I thought it would be a great opportunity to meet other women that were doing great things in the community.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? The organization has helped me realize how important it is to have supportive women in your life. I am looking forward to attending events and becoming more involved with this wonderful group. I think that this organization has a wonderful message for women and I’m proud to be a part of it.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? Being a woman is a wonderful thing, but can definitely be difficult at times. I’m the kind of girl that wears my heart on my sleeve. I’ve had some ups & downs over the past couple of years; however, I’ve turned a difficult situation into a positive situation by starting the NCCC SC Chapter. I feel by telling my story  & spreading awareness on cervical cancer & HPV helps others and may just save another woman’s life.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? I would like to let women know that even in this economy, you still need to be happy in what you are doing. If you aren’t happy with your job or your current situation in life, it makes it more difficult to be successful. Become a volunteer to help out an organization that means something to you. Being an active volunteer in your community is the most wonderful gift you can give to yourself and others.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

