C4W Member Profile: Ryan Nelson

What is your profession? Media and PR Consultant at Nelwater Consulting.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I love eating at local restaurants with my mom, Lana Nelson, who just survived a heart attack. I really enjoy spending time with my husband, Darren Goldwater, the TV announcer for the Southern Conference network. He’s off doing a ton of games, so when he’s home, we love having fun in the Lowcountry. I also enjoy spending my time with local nonprofits like Louie’s Kids and SWAT, along with helping local nonprofits with their events. I am embracing life more than ever and absolutely loving it.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women?As the original host and creator of Lowcountry Live, both Cathy O’Hara and I truly believed in the mission of C4W and helped them reserve a permanent spot on the show  more than five years ago. I feel I have been a part of the C4W since the beginning, and seeing them flourish is amazing. Our community needed the C4W more than ever and I’m glad it’s an outlet for so many.

What inspired you to become a member?The Center for Women was recently a beneficiary of the Pour It Forward for Square Onion Too, and I realized I hadn’t signed up to be a member in forever, so I signed up immediately. What this organization does for our community is beyond immeasurable.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? I’ve been lucky enough to present a program at the C4W along with seeing them grow over the many years. They not only make an impact on myself and my business, Nelwater Consulting, but they continue to increase awareness of all the kick-ass women business owners in the Lowcountry who I’ve worked with on many clients. I’ve been lucky to meet so many of them and know that each woman contributes their own unique twist to the organization.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? As quite the outspoken woman, I have felt that my role in the world is to be strong and the C4W has helped me realize that. I remember when I interviewed Jane Perdue, she amazed me with her gumption and I asked her, “How do you deal with people who call you a bitch?” She asked me if I knew what bitch meant, I laughed admitting it probably wasn’t what I thought…she said, “It stands for Boys I’m Taking Charge Here”…ha! Since that day I knew as a woman in my native Charleston, that I needed to say what I meant, stand behind it and help other women in this town blossom. I love being a woman!

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Sometimes it’s scary to be let go from your job or change your life when you least expect it, but in the end, embrace that change. Know that the next door that opens for you will be more than what you walked through before…and know that no matter what, you CAN do it.

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “C4W Member Profile: Ryan Nelson”

  1. Vickey b Says:

    Great profile. You are inspirational. I hope to see you soon.

Leave a Reply

