C4W Business Member Profile: Mary Ross McQuage

What is your profession?  Owner of Aging Resources

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career?  I love to spend time in the outdoors.  My husband is one of the owners of Sea Kayak Carolina and, fortunately for me, I love to go kayaking along the coast and in the rivers in our area.  I have a very impressive collection of shark’s teeth!

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women?  Since 2008.

What inspired you to become a member?  I came to appreciate the power and significance of women as a Women’s Studies Minor at Wake Forest University.  I believe it’s so important for women to support each other, learn from one another, and to be a resource for each other.  The Center for Women provides the structure for women in our area to do all of these things and more.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you?  Several years ago when I was going through a difficult transition in my life, I participated in a support group at the Center for Women.  I am so grateful to have had that support during that time.

I love the annual Women in Business conference.  It is so inspiring as well as an incredible venue for networking.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you?  It’s a constant balancing act – mother, wife, business owner, volunteer, friend, chef, housekeeper – among the roles we find ourselves in.  It’s not easy but I am grateful for every opportunity and having a lot of fun along the way!

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? You may have to approach your goals a little differently in this economy, but don’t let today’s economic environment be your excuse to hold yourself back.  Set your goals, get focused, seek out good mentors, and keep putting one foot in front of the other.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

