C4W Member Profile: Emily Everett

What is your profession? Director, Charleston Friends of the Library. I am the only paid employee of the non-profit that supports the Charleston County Public Library system. Currently, getting ready for our biggest fundraiser of the year- That BIG Book Sale at the Gaillard Auditorium in October.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? Reading, Traveling, Music festivals, Visiting the dog park with my dog Miles, Volunteering, Feasting on Charleston cuisine.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? Almost a year.

What inspired you to become a member? I moved here last summer and wanted to become more active in the Charleston community. I thought what better way to meet other women who had similar interests than to join C4W? Currently looking for volunteer opportunities outside of my work world!

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? I enjoy the updates and learning more about our community from a female prospective. It’s inspiring to live in a city that has so many talented and remarkable women making a difference.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? As a woman, I feel empowered to make the
world a better place for the younger generations. I’m lucky to have grown up with a mom who made me feel like I could achieve anything if I just put the effort into it. I previously gave a presentation to a group of young girls about my job and my day to day tasks. Hearing their questions and seeing their curious eyes made the time worthwhile. The opportunities are endless.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Goals take time. Don’t give up on your dreams because you hit a road block. Your first job out of college isn’t going to be your dream job. I can almost guarantee it. Volunteer in your community to explore your interests and someday you might just get paid to do what you love!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

