C4W Member Profile: Alesya Opelt

What is your profession? Founder, Alesya Bags – Stylish laptop bags for women

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career?

  • Hosting guests – We’ve had seven sets of visitors this summer alone!  Great perk of living in Charleston.
  • Traveling anywhere near water or family
  • Reading blogs, business books and fun fiction
  • Singing hits like “The Itsy-Bitsy Spider” with my 2-year-old daughter
  • Fawning over magazines – the old fashion print kind and the new fangled iPad kind
  • Cooking (My mother will die when she reads that.)

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? One big year.

What inspired you to become a member? It wasn’t a “what” it was a “who”. Jennet Robinson Alterman – Her enthusiasm for women entrepreneurs made me realize I had to join this organization.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? The night of the Center for Women Purse Auction was a watershed moment for me.  Having the opportunity to showcase the very first Alesya Bag in front of a room full of professional women was amazing.  When Jennet called me up on stage to introduce the bag it was the first time I’d ever shown it to the public!  As the crowd “oohhhh and ahhhed” my husband Josh and friend Charlotte Zacharkiw say I was glowing.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? It’s always been said that business is an Old Boy’s Club and men help each other move up in the world, while women don’t help one another.  In Charleston, I’ve found the exact opposite to be true.  The women here have reached out to me, given me fabulous advice and continue to encourage my entrepreneurial pursuits.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? This economy has been difficult on everyone.  I’ve seen grown men (and women) cry over it.  Seriously.  History tells us times will get better.  If you can make it through this downturn – which I believe is almost over – you’ll be positioned to succeed when so many others threw in the towel.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “C4W Member Profile: Alesya Opelt”

  1. beckersj1212 Says:

    You have joined me in embracing all that C4Women is about. And , I agree Jennet is amazing. Love childhood stores and films (my absolute favorite),a model for life, is The Wizard of Oz.

    Doing a workshop at Center4 Women in Oct and I am interviewing women who have moved onto a new “second life” phase.

    If this is something that you can identify with. would love to talk to you more.
    Email me and we can set up a time to talk by phone or, my preference, in person.
    Warmest Regards,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

