C4W Business Member Profile: Sandra Gaylord

What is your profession? Gaylord Design – Kitchen, Bath, and Interior Designer

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? Sketching, reading, writing, taking care of dogs.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? 2008

What inspired you to become a member? When I moved to Charleston in 2007, I was looking for an organization that supported women in their personal, emotional, and business endeavors. The Center for Women met and exceeded those things. The seminars not only gave me valuable information, it was an opportunity to meet and make new friends with women’s issues at heart.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? The networking has opened business connections for me and several seminars have improved my knowledge base for operating my business.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? I feel good about being a woman today. In my early career days, things were a lot different. Those things improved my strength of character, gave me the courage to support myself and my peers in the work place against unfair practices, and taught me value of self. However, there is still work and education that needs to be done.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Offer additional services over and above what you would normally do without the extra costs. Re-evaluate items you currently use to operate your business and determine if there is a more cost effective option or if you need it at all. Think positive – it creates positive energy!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

