C4W Board Member Profile: Colleen Troy

What is your profession? Owner, Touchpoint Communications, a PR/Marketing communications firm, adjunct college professor, freelance writer.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I have a husband and two great kids, so I love anything we do together. We are big on traveling, and we also like cooking and dining out together.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? Wow – for at least 7 years!

What inspired you to become a member? I really like the positive, empowering spirit of the Center for Women. I always meet such cool people at Center events, and feel energized by the program content and the ideas shared.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? The Center has helped me see that women can, and do, have a real voice and impact in this community. It’s easy to believe otherwise sometimes and become dispirited, but women really do rock, and the Center gives us a focus for that strength.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? As a mom, I’m trying to raise both my son and my daughter to be good feminists. (Yep, I said the “f” word) That means they know women can do anything, just as men can do anything. I think that I was raised to be confident, married a man who isn’t afraid of that, and just want to keep the momentum going.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Believe in yourself, even if it seems like nobody else does. Sure, day to day can become a real grind. But take the time now and then to reflect on the progress you’re making. Be flexible. Be open. And be a friend to yourself!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

