C4W Member Profile: Reese McFaddin

What is your profession? Health insurance broker…Workplace Benefits helps individuals and companies with their frustrations with health insurance.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? Hip Hop…I love taking classes because it takes me out of my everyday life & into the zone. And, I love teaching hip hop classes and inspiring people to get in touch with their inner gangsta!!

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? Probably over 5 amazing years

What inspired you to become a member? Sometimes, you just come across organizations and people that you know they have their pulse on the community.  I certainly got this vibe from the second I came in contact with The Center for Women.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? The most obvious answer is the C4W helped and supported my business, but it goes deeper than that.  C4W is there for you, in every sense of the word “there.”  They are there to cheer you on along with the highs, they believe in you when you didn’t believe in yourself, and they are there for you if you just need to VENT!

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? Being an insurance broker, I am in a male dominated field. Even though there may have been more hurdles in order to make a name for myself, I prefer to see the opportunity in being a female.  I decided early on to present myself as the “softer, kinder” side of insurance, which differentiated me from the rest of my competition immediately.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy?
1) Feel the fear & do it anyway…obviously its scary, but you just need to move forward

2) Keep your overhead as low as possible for as long as possible

3) You’ve got to spend money to make money (once you’ve gotten over the hump)

4) Your highs will be really high & your lows will be very low…it’s your responsibility to learn each side of that lesson

5) Never sit still…there will always be things beyond your control happening (economy & whatnot) but always be looking for that next opportunity

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

