C4W Member Profile: Vladia Jurcova-Spencer

What is your profession?  Publicist, Stylee PR & Marketing

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? Traveling is a huge passion of mine. I am also a closet Egyptologist, a huge history nerd; I don’t think that anyone besides my husband knows this about me.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? I think I joined in 2003 for the first time.

What inspired you to become a member? I moved here from Seattle and didn’t know a soul in Charleston. I learned about the Center 4 Women, I believe, from Skirt!. I wanted to meet other entrepreneurially thinking women, network. I liked the variety of workshops that the Center offered.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? At one of the workshops presented by Sharon Spence I met my former business partner, Sherrie Bakshi. Months later, we founded Stylee PR & Marketing. We later on worked again with Sharon when she covered our clients for travel publications. I met Shari Schleis at the Women in Business Conference the same year. She introduced me to Zonta. Needless to say, the Center for Women was pretty instrumental in shaping my professional career.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? I have always been surrounded by powerful and successful women, starting with my mother and grandmother. My mother was a politician, in most elections she ran against all men and won. An experience like that is quite empowering for a teenage girl.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? I don’t think that they should worry about the economy much. Many great businesses were founded in tough times. To succeed, one has to have passion and also set goals. Maybe the economy is forcing us to be more creative, more flexible, and finding that niche market with plenty of opportunities doesn’t hurt either.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

