C4W Member Profile: Laura Kelley

What is your profession? Interior Design and Residential Contractor, DBL Design, LLC.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I enjoy giving back to my community.  I volunteer firefight for Awendaw District Fire Department.  I am also a member of the Women Firefighters of the Lowcountry and a member of the National Association of Women in Construction Lowcountry Chapter.  These two associations each have a strong focus on community involvement and support planning.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? I have been a member for one year.

What inspired you to become a member? I attended the annual Women in Business Conference in 2010 and had such a great time.  I loved meeting, learning and being inspired by all the women there.  I knew I needed to be a part of the organization if I wanted to start my own business.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? The Center for Women has taught me to be a stronger individual and to stand tall as a business woman.  I was very hesitant to set out on my own.  After meeting so many inspirational women in this organization, I decide that it was time to take that leap.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? I spend most of my work day and free time around men.  I am very aware of the difference between men and women.   Because of that, my goal is to teach women that you don’t need to be this big burly man to be in construction or firefighting.  It is really about skill sets and confidence.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Keep trying!  It is hard out there right now, but if you truly believe in your product and yourself it will come.   In my industry, there are so many companies fighting for the same projects.  You need to be able to set yourself apart.  You need to figure out what makes you “you” and transfer that to your business.  Once you do, you will succeed!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “C4W Member Profile: Laura Kelley”

  1. Atmah Ja Says:

    That’s awesome Laura! Love your fire fighting ~ that takes serious grit, guts and core internal power!… Best, AJ

Leave a Reply

