C4W Board Member Profile: Jennifer Young Pierce

Photo by Alice Keeney

What is your profession? Gynecologic Oncologist, MUSC faculty

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? Cooking, gardening, running, spending time with my husband, playing with our two dogs, Norman and Ellie.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? 2 years

What inspired you to become a member? Jennet Robinson Alterman’s passion and determination. I first met her at the inaugural event for the Lowcountry Women with Wings program.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? I have so enjoyed meeting inspiring women in all different fields from all over the Lowcountry.  Together we can make a difference!

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? In my field, I work with women for women, but in a role traditionally held by men.  When women come to see me for the first time, they are often surprised to find themselves sitting across from a female physician. I find this is a real opportunity to connect with my patients and truly serve all of their needs and the needs of their families. I also enjoy educating women about their bodies and ways that they can protect themselves from cancer.  I believe being a woman, I can reach them on a different level.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Be yourself and do something that truly inspires you, even if it is after work!

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “C4W Board Member Profile: Jennifer Young Pierce”

  1. Tweets that mention C4W Board Member Profile: Jennifer Young Pierce « Lowcountry Women -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Amanda Bunting Comen, Center for Women. Center for Women said: NEW Lowcountry Women Blog Post: C4W Board Member Profile: Jennifer Young Pierce http://wp.me/p2vzA-au […]

  2. Samantha Rashan Says:

    I have seen both men and women Ob/Gyn’s and prefer men over woman 3:1. I had only one good experience with a woman Ob. I guess they are just too busy to deal with other women.

  3. Abbott Says:

    Hey there, great site. I like your design. I just got finished cosmetic courses and would like to set up my personal web-site. I appreciate you for the fantastic post!

Leave a Reply

