C4W Member Profile: Holly Fisher

What is your profession? Account executive, Step Ahead Inc., a public relations, social media marketing and Internet marketing firm.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I have a daughter who is almost 3 years old, so “me” time is a luxury, but I enjoy reading, writing, gardening and doing CrossFit with my husband.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? Two years

What inspired you to become a member? I had been familiar with the Center for Women for several years and always admired its role in the community as a resource and supporter of women. I joined so I could be a part of that effort.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? The sheer variety of programming is terrific, from the annual Women in Business Conference to the Women Writers Forum, I truly appreciate that the Center for Women has a program for every woman in the Charleston area. I also have had the chance to speak at a couple of events and welcomed the opportunity to give back to the organization and to meet other terrific women in the community.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? I find as I grow older and, particularly now that I am a mother, women carry an enormous load. We take personally the successes and failures of our children and families. We strive to balance our personal and home life with our career aspirations. We go through each day trying to keep all the balls in the air and beat ourselves up when one hits the ground. Women need to cut themselves some slack and realize that even on the days when we feel defeated, we have accomplished so much – simply by being women who contribute to our communities, our families, our jobs and, from time to time, ourselves.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? You have to be flexible. When I lost my job two years ago, it was devastating. But I knew I had to regroup, refocus and be open to new possibilities. I truly believe women aren’t limited in what they can do as long as they are determined and willing to take a chance. While making a change might be scary, as long as you believe in yourself, you will succeed.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

