C4W Member Profile: Carol Kass

What is your profession? Owner of Pure Gifts, Mt. Pleasant’s newest eco-focused gift shop that provides unique, handmade products from primarily local and regional designers.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? My shop is my hobby, as well as my profession. I love that I am able to incorporate my passion for sustainable practices into the store, while also providing a venue to showcase local artisan talent. As a society, we are losing touch with some of our roots, in that very few people still have these skills. So for me, it is a question of supporting those who take the time to preserve these crafts.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? I recently joined as a business member, but have been involved since I moved to Charleston in 2008.

What inspired you to become a member? I joined as a business member because the store’s merchandise is comprised of 85% female vendors.  Pure Gifts is possible because of women who work and for many their craft is a second or third job.   Without inspiration for new ideas and encouragement of women designers in our community, my shop would not be possible.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? The Center for Women has provided an outlet for me to share my passion for thoughtful, unique gifts, in addition to my commitment to sustainability. I am happy that Pure Gifts provides me with an outlet to reciprocate that support to the C4W. I hope to have regular in-store events that benefit the organization and its mission.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? As women, we wear many hats. I am loving my newest role as entrepreneur – I can provide other women with opportunities to highlight their talents, while supporting the business that I am trying to build.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? If I can do it, you can, too. Pure Gifts is a dream turned reality for me – I worked the corporate world for years, and now, I am my own employer.  If you have a goal that you want to achieve, there is never a better time than right now.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “C4W Member Profile: Carol Kass”

  1. Valerie's Essentials Says:

    What a wonderful write up! I just have to share! Great shop with all handmade items and made with care! Perfect!

Leave a Reply

