C4W Member Profile : Jennifer Lynn Rone (Jeni)

What is your profession? Accredited Financial Counselor and Photographer // Sea Star Arts (we live in a beautiful city! Who wouldn’t want to capture that…)

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? My career as an artist allows me to engage with all types of people, places and events that inspire me to be a better, more creative person. Nothing like the bride’s mother asking if she can adopt me!

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? Oh gee, I think at least 2 or 3 years now?

What inspired you to become a member? I noticed that the Center for Women were involved in many events that moved me and I needed a local organization to give back to. I travel all over our country for work and I needed a strong foundation to support and be supported by when I am home.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? Oh where to begin? Other than great friendships that have been established, I have taken advantage of almost every service offered by the Center. I enjoy the Brown Bag Lunch series and definitely have fun at all the great events that are sponsored by or benefit the Center for Women. My most favorite has been the writers series, though. I have met some outstanding writers, editors and women like me that want to develop their skills. Having Dottie Frank bring a new book and sign it for us was tops! She’s a riot!

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? Maybe because I use the cliché term –southern blonde? But I have a hard time day to day being taken seriously and avoiding being harassed. I am an intelligent, hardworking person that happens to be a self-reliant woman. The Center for Women has supported and is run by so many strong women that I feel confident in my day to day life to overcome obstacles and challenges that happen because I am a woman.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? No matter what shape you are, size you wear or shoe color you have on today, make sure to be proud of who you are and what you represent. There is no one out there more important than yourself and your number one goal should be to properly take care of her.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “C4W Member Profile : Jennifer Lynn Rone (Jeni)”

  1. Emily Kenan Says:

    I’m so glad to call Jeni a personal friend. She’s absolutely wonderful!! She also has three precious doggies that I love too.

Leave a Reply

