C4W Member Profile: Lindsey Ballenger

What is your profession? Full Time Mama to Ella [2 ½ years] and Alex [8 months], Owner of The Charleston Shucker Company, Part Time  Special Projects for nonprofit organizations, and occasional swim instructor.
What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? Although some may say that right now I am “outside” of my career, but I am simply making the most of my time with my babies and always seeking to find the right balance between home and work. Working from home is a blessing and a challenge and I am very thankful for these opportunities.

When I am not having tea parties with the kids or working in my home office, I crave time to go boating and fishing with my husband and friends.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? Since 2006

What inspired you to become a member? The amazing women of the C4W! Upon meeting Jennet, Amanda and Leigh Ann I had to join!!

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? The Center for Women has been a wonderful connection point for me in our community. I have enjoyed the professional and personal development programs, philanthropy opportunities and connecting with other powerful women!

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? I love being a woman! I think I’d make a horrible man anyway. And I am so grateful for the opportunity to be a mom to two girls. It will be my challenge and honor to raise them to be self-confident and independent young women.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Don’t be afraid to ask. Stand up tall, find your voice, and your seat at the table. So many times, as women, we do not ask for what we want. Hearing NO is the worst that can happen anyway. Whether it is a raise, a more flexible work schedule, a special discount or the ability to use an expired coupon, ASK! Because you will be amazed at how often you hear YES!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

