C4W Member Profile: Liz Mester

What is your profession? Director of Development at Wings for Kids

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I love to cook without recipes. I grew up in an Italian family where everyone gathered in the kitchen, had to eat a lot and where something was always cooking on the stove. I love LOVE to spend time with my friends, watch Law and Order SVU and walk the dog. My private hobby – writing letters to friends out of town. It’s a sacred ritual.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women?
I was a member a few years ago and have recently rejoined. I can’t wait to get back involved and take advantage of the opportunities C4W offers on a weekly basis.

What inspired you to become a member? I have always been a fan of what the C4W does and the action they have taken to advocate on behalf of women in our city. When I initially joined C4W some years back, Jennet came and spoke to one of my College of Charleston classes and I was so inspired I wrote a check on the spot.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? As someone who works in development and advocates on behalf of kids – I understand well how close women and children affect each other and are responsible for each other. The Center for Women pushes women forward and out into the world with a lighter load. When there are stronger, more prepared women in our community, everyone benefits.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? I have always been proud to be a young woman. I live very independently and feel accomplished because I can stand on my own two feet. I have worked hard to give myself a career – to be a woman of endless possibilities. My whole organization is run by women and our fearless leader is proof that women can do anything they set their minds to – no matter your age. So – everyday I think about being a woman and how I want the most that being a woman has to offer. I’m lucky – I have pretty good examples.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy?
I would say: Build a community of hope around you. Rely on good people to help you when you need it. Work hard and keep your eye on the prize.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

