C4W Member Profile: Angie Mizzell

What is your profession? Freelance writer and columnist for Lowcountry Parent magazine. I also tell stories of “life, love and leaps of faith” at www.AngieMizzell.com.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? Raising my two sons, reading memoirs, going to the gym and playing “tourist” in my hometown. I love sitting on rooftops and admiring the view.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? Since 2007.

What inspired you to become a member? The Center for Women offers so many programs to support women writers, and it also provides opportunities to connect with like-minded people. The Center for Women has been a huge support and resource for me as I transitioned from a career in the television newsroom to being my own boss.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you?
I can’t even begin to measure! Being a member has opened many doors for me. It takes networking a step further by providing an opportunity to develop genuine relationships and make some really good friends. Working from home can feel isolating as times, but I know I have a team of women on my side, and that’s priceless.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you?
I’m proud to be a woman. I know we still have a way to go in terms of equality in the workplace, but women bring something important to the table that can’t be replicated. I was raised by a single mom who wouldn’t let me wallow in my insecurities. She would turn my face toward a mirror and tell me all the things I had to offer. She saw the things I couldn’t see, and eventually, I grew to value my unique gifts and talents. I wish that for all women.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Becoming self-employed has taught me how to take my skill-set and life experience and “customize” them to fit opportunities that have crossed my path. I don’t think we can simply list our previous job experience on a resume and expect that to work. We have to show potential bosses (or potential customers if you’re running your own business) exactly what we can do for them. If you focus on making genuine connections and serving others, good things have a way of circling back around.

Come back next week to hear more from Angie on work-life balance.

One Response to “C4W Member Profile: Angie Mizzell”

  1. The Quest for Balance « Lowcountry Women Says:

    […] Quest for Balance By c4women Guest blogger Angie Mizzell shares her ongoing quest for […]

Leave a Reply

