C4W Member Profile: Lyn Mettler

What is your profession? Co-owner Step Ahead, Inc.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I enjoy keeping in shape (or trying to!) through personal training, running, reading, and being a mom to my children.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? 1-2 years?

What inspired you to become a member? I enjoy many of the programs the Center offers and have enjoyed the people I’ve met through the many networking functions, conferences and events.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? I have met a lot of women, particularly small business owners, that I never would have met otherwise, who I have learned from or been able to offer a PR or social media tip. I’ve also learned a lot at events ranging from financial planning and organization to networking and social media.

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? I was never raised to believe or ever felt that I couldn’t do anything a man could do. In fact, that rarely even enters my mind as a consideration. I truly felt as if I could be president someday if I so chose. I do find as a day to day struggle the balance between being a mother and having a professional career. It always feels a bit as if I’m not doing either to my full potential and inevitably produces some guilt on both sides. Finding other mothers struggling with the same issue has helped considerably, as I find that some of the challenges of motherhood are often kept quiet. I encourage mothers to talk about their problems openly, as many others share the same worries and it is nothing to be ashamed about. I am delighted to be a woman, could not imagine being otherwise! and am so excited I live in a time where women truly can do anything that men can do.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Use education to empower yourself to make the best choices for your career, your money and your family. It’s through knowledge, and particularly meeting others and learning from them, that we will be able to help one another through the struggles that we face financially or otherwise every day. Get out there and learn everything you can from everyone you can and your next opportunity will present itself.

Leave a Reply

