C4W Member Profile: Ami Murphy

Pictured from l to r: Ami Murphy and Liz Macpherson

What is your profession? Owner of mac & murphy – a Charleston paper company. Liz Macpherson is my business partner and we are both living our dreams through the store.

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? Spending time around Charleston with my family and friends. So far, the best day of 2010 was spent at the Lowcountry Local First Chef’s Potluck at Middleton Place. We spent the entire afternoon eating amazing food, listening to music and just hanging out on the farm – it was perfect.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? I just joined and can’t wait to become more involved.

What inspired you to become a member? A number of other small business owners that I know are members and it just became more and more apparent that this was something I wanted and needed to be a part of. Liz and I were invited to speak during a brown bag lunch series a few months back and spending just 1 hour in a room full of creative entrepreneurs was so energizing. We just could not believe that we were the ones being asked for insight and inspiration. It felt like we had finally made it.

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? see above ; )

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? I love being a woman. I love everything about it. Professionally, I’ve always done what I wanted to do, where and how I wanted to do it. There was only one work environment that wasn’t working out because I was a woman and I made it clear why I was leaving. They asked me to stay, but I didn’t. I am also a mother to a 1 year old so this year I’ve had the opportunity to learn about that mystical “work/life balance” that all mothers and fathers get to experience.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Be realistic and become intimately familiar with the difference between “want” and “need”.

One Response to “C4W Member Profile: Ami Murphy”

  1. Marc Says:

    What a great interview with a wonderful woman.

Leave a Reply

