C4W Member Profile: Maryann Reid

What is your profession? Author of Women’s Fiction, St Martins Press and Publisher/Editor of several online businesses

What do you enjoy doing outside of your career? I love a good meal. I don’t have any favorite kinds of foods, because I love it all. I am particularly into fusions of different cuisines like Asian or Spanish fusions. I’m not as excited about cooking as I am about dining out, but I love watching others cook, especially on television. My best pick me up is a grilled banana and peanut butter sandwich. Right now, I am getting more into natural and farm raised foods, learning about growing my own, and where to buy the most wholesome food products.

How long have you been a member of the Center for Women? I just signed up this week. I’m moving to Charleston from NYC and it was the first thing I did even before officially changing my address!

What inspired you to become a member? I’ve been active as a volunteer for the past few years and as a Board Member for Girls Quest, an organization for low income girls in NYC. The Center 4 Women seemed like a great place to start and root myself by reaching out to other women who have the same interests as I do, particularly in entrepreneurship. As an author, I also look forward to meeting other writers and artists in the community. I can’t express how excited I was to find out that the Center for Women has so much to offer in such a wonderful city like Charleston. Just the experience of being in Charleston as a member as Center for Women is more than a good start for me!

What kind of impact has the Center for Women had on you? Well, I’m hoping that I can give, as much as get from the Center for Women. I believe I have valuable resources, tools, and information to share with other members, as well as, get my own interests met by meeting new people. Most of all, I want to be able to participate in panels and events, and in the future, become more a part of the Center’s growth. The website alone was moving enough for me to join. How could I not be a part of such excitement and community building!

How has living day-to-day as a woman affected you? Being a woman is defined on so many different levels. It’s so much more than gender and biology. A woman should define herself based on who she is, and not what she does. That means that everyday I can be who I choose to be. I can be the teacher, nurse, CEO, wife, mother or whatever to get things done. Being multi-dimensional is how I am able to harvest all my talents. Being a woman is deep and expansive. It’s power, if used correctly, can change the world.

What kind of message would you like to send out to women who are trying to succeed in today’s economy? Definitely consider being self sufficient. Research starting your own online business. You must have an income that is not dependent on anyone else but your own effort. Everyone has something they can teach. Find something you want to learn, and teach it. If you want to be rich, show others how. Roll up your sleeves. It’s your destiny. Rule it!

Leave a Reply

