C4Women Board Member Profile: Harriet McDougal Rigney

Center for Women Board Member, Harriet McDougal Rigney, is an editor.

Her inspiration to become a member? Simply, “I am a woman.” She claims the Center is a, “splendidly run nonprofit that addresses a real need in South Carolina.”

When she’s not busy embracing her writing abilities, she enjoys gardening, yoga and travel.

When asked what kind of message she would like to send out to other women trying to succeed in the economy, she says:

“Keep at it. Onward. Onward. Onward.”

One Response to “C4Women Board Member Profile: Harriet McDougal Rigney”

  1. Melissa Douthit Says:

    Dear Mrs. Mc Dougal,

    I’m sorry I am posting on this blog but I wasn’t sure how else to get a hold of you. I am writing to you because I have been a long time fan of your late husband’s literary work, The Wheel of Time. I was so saddened to hear of his passing in September of 2007. He was a great man. The day I heard of it, I started writing my own story that I had been developing for a few months previous to that. It was really his work and his story that inspired me to do it.
    It has been a few years and I have most of my story worked out and 10 chapters written so far. Work on it has been slow because I write when I have time. I have a full time job as a scientist and a researcher for the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey. Prior to that, I worked at Lawrence Livermore National Lab.
    I am writing to you because you have experience in the business and may have good advice for a new writer. I don’t have anyone at the moment who can review my work and provide feedback. I am unsure of how to go about finding someone who can do that for me. Alone, it is difficult to judge my own writing.
    If you have any information or advice on the subject and have time to share it, that would be so wonderful. Thank you for your time.

    Respectfully,

    Melissa Douthit

Leave a Reply

