Broken, cracked or shattered


Are we really seeing the glass ceiling in US national politics shatter during this presidential election? I think we are. Hillary Clinton’s run for the Democratic presidential nomination was as serious, as well-funded and managed as any bid. In the end, Hillary did not get her party’s nomination, but it was due to complex reasons, not a single issue – her gender. And, it certainly wasn’t due to cigar smoke filled, back room politics of yesteryear.

I’m sure that there are Americans that think McCain’s selection of Sarah Palin as his running mate is strictly to attract women voters to the Republican Party. While this certainly must be a Republican objective, the issue is more complex. McCain has to believe that Sarah Palin’s upside will more than outweigh any downside of having a woman on the ticket. I think we are witnessing a sea change in this presidential election. Both parties are looking to strong, intelligent women to fill our highest elected offices. Neither Hillary Clinton or Sarah Palin feel like “tokens” to me. They are both the real deal and both are shattering glass ceilings.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Broken, cracked or shattered”

  1. Shari Stauch Says:

    And both women have been up to challenging those cigar-smoking, back room politicians as well. Great blog!

  2. Nikki Says:

    I think McCain’s move was totally cynical…thinking one woman is just like another so why not get Hillary’s opposite and women won’t notice. First I was totally mad at Obama for not picking her for VP and now I’m totally mad at McCain for being so condescending. I kept my Hillary sticker on my car and now a Women for Obama sticker is going up beside it. Maybe she is the real deal, but it’s not a deal I want to buy into. Love your blog…Nikki

  3. Anon Says:

    I agree with Nikki… I was upset that Hillary wasn’t able to win the primary, but I have certainly grown to love Obama. Words cannot express how negatively I feel towards McCain for picking Palin for his VP, among other things. This is not the way that I want women to break this barrier, because absolutely nothing about Sarah Palin represents a good for women. Despite her strong attitude as a female and her obvious pubic appeal, I have absolutely no respect for her. It would be a huge disservice to women and feminist movements for someone like Sarah Palin to be elected to office; it’s nothing short of hypocritical! She is against Women’s rights in many forms, perhaps most notably the possible over-turn of Roe vs. Wade which could very well happen in states like SC if such a decision were made. The possibility of her being elected should most certainly not be praised, especially when such substantial gains women have made are at stake!!

Leave a Reply

